26 has been fucking awesome (looking back at it)!

birthday-cakeThere was a point in this year in which I thought that 26 couldn’t go any worse. I believe it was the spur of the moment or something, since looking back (like I do every year) at everything I’ve done and achieved, I’d say it was fucking great.

 

I guess it all “Started” with heavy rains and the infamous September flood. Yep, that was on September 21, 2008. I remembered most of my friends missing my “Food Network Extravaganza” and the ones that actually did, outshined with their meals. I was feeling pretty laid back with myself. I had great friends, I got out of a wronging relationship with a cool yet immature kid and I was sure I was to get the job I needed.

October “Came”. If this was a screenplay it would be the structure that’ll lay out the rest of the year. Early in the month, I met Ernesto and Glenn and became really close. The Chulillo Nights, which consisted of Ernesto’s delicious fritters, became classics. I also started to befriend someone I met the year before, a guy named Carlos. Oh, and that month me and my friends ended up dressing up like each other for Halloween, and that infamous picture was born!

“Changes” came with November. I went out with Carlos the first Wednesday month, and our Little Big Planet craze grew. Meanwhile one of my friends started to get interested in another kind of Carlos. It was a month of excitement, I was feeling great with everything cool in my life. I had great friends and cool things were arriving, except for that job of course. And then one night… blunt, straight and out of nowhere… he kissed me; even more shockful, I actually liked it.

December was “Cool”. I witnessed: the birth of a different Miguel; the birth of a concept; the people I left behind; and the cities I loved. Miguel was different, he was getting interested in someone and that happened how many times now? 0? But the most important thing, aside from the huge trip that followed, was the fact that Ernesto, David and I came up with the ”ridiculous”‘ idea of creating a talk show.

I visited my beloved Boston and met with my old roomates. We had the coldest New Years Eve ever. Then, I went to New York and met with my 3 best friends. From visiting Coyote Ugly, to Splash’s open bar, it was some of the most fun I’ve had. However, something was missing… Oh, and did I mentioned one of my friends told me he was in love with me?

Halfway through January, we had a “Situation”. We got to the island and in three days our newly promoted “Chulillo Lately” was premiering on youtube. Instead we decided to release an intro of the show. It was so popular (just three guys sitting on a couch talking and making fun of people and situations that arised), that we decided to rethink the concept. 

By February, I was all “Rare”. After meeting up with Carlos, I noticed things were different. We were on a different level. Enjoying the fact that he was on vacations, we spent a lot of time together, however, we were behaving more like best friends than whatever we had at the moment. One night, after having a great get together at home which involved a couple of Doctor Who? Episodes, I asked what was going on and he replied that he was wondering if he was wrong by believing we were just friends. After some conversations, he felt like we went to that place and that he’d rather have me as a friend, a thing I accepted even though I disagreed. me

Things were strange, I was feeling a little down. I let myself be vulnerable to someone. I let feelings grow for the first time. Karma put up with me and was giving me a beat. However things changed.

March was perhaps the “Best” month of 26. I met a couple of online friends, Héctor and Johann, and we became really close. One night, out of nowhere and unexpectedly, I received a text from him and it changed everything. It is strange to express what you feel when you’re happy, when you’re dark and sober it’s more visual to represent than when happiness is around. Things were great, I was still together with the person I cared. I was feeling very explosive.

During that time, I went to camp with my new friends causing a rift amongst the old friends which we still haven’t fully recovered.

April, oh April of “Emotions.” The show was going great, thanks in part to the incredible creativity of the team and Ernesto’s ability to entertain. Things between me and the boy were going as I thought he wanted them, nice and smooth. We went out to different places, had fun and he made me feel special. I was still in the same job and relatively no new opportunities showed up. And just like that, like a sepia picture capturing a timeless moment, everything that was great stood great, up to that moment.

May was a month of “Vacations”. After being worried about Carlos’ possibly losing his job, while Chulillo Lately was in it’s prime, we decided to take a vacation. This helped us to reshuffle our ideas and generate different personal experiences.

And, so came June and you all know the story involved in the previous post.  So, I’ll skip it. However, July arrived with me very insomniac, a depression and conflicting situations around me. The notion of losing someone I really care, the fact that a family member will leave really soon and the fact that I feel unmoved and unable to feel nothing but sadness and motions. I fear that going back to the person I was isn”t going to be the answer this time. Not only that but there’s a whole gossip I haven’t shared and it’s quite juicy.

I have changed, I’m way slimmer than last year. I’m still pretty hot. But, also I’ve changed emotionally, I let myself fall for someone, I opened up to my friends and I’ve enjoyed the paths that have opened up. So, even though it’s been a rollercoaster of emotions, it got me awesome memories I’ll never forget and great friends. Thank you all for all the good times and the not so good ones. I’ll celebrate 27 thinking that 26 made me more human and of course, hotter.

~ by rpgdude on August 12, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
